March 27

What To Read Next

Posted by lori . 5 Comments

.

How do you decide what to read?

They say “you can’t judge a book by its cover,” but that’s exactly what I do when I stroll through a bookstore.  Here are some other ways I pick my next read.

Magazines – Bookmarks is my favorite magazine about books.  They give in-depth reviews, interview and survey writers (old and new), look at best books in specific categories/subject matter and much more; and you can get reading guides on their website.

Books – I love to read books about books.  A good one for picking your next read is Book Lust:  Recommended Reading for Every Mood, Moment, and Reason by Nancy Pearl.  She creatively links books in almost 200 categories like, “Action Heroines,” “China Voices,” “The Moon’s My Destination,” and “What a Trial that Was!”

Blogs – S. Krishna’s Books is my favorite book blog.  She give a summary, a review and a rating.  Swapna’s site is easy to navigate and the review database is excellent.  You can also search her site by book title.

Book Clubs – This is my favorite way to get out of your comfort zone.  Whether it’s a club you attend or a club like Oprah’s Book Club, read what’s selected whether you think you’ll like it or not.  I guarantee you’ll be surprised at what you get out of it.  I’ve been a member of the Eclectic Women’s Book Club since 2006.  We meet on the third Monday of every month (except December) at Barnes and Noble, Mishawaka, IN.  The picture is from 2007; for me, several hairstyles ago.

Community Initiatives – I’m new to this idea but I like it!  One Book, One Michiana is a program to get the whole community reading and talking about the same book.  Fun fact:  Nancy Pearl, author of Book Lust, was the first person to promote the idea of a community reading the same book, at the same time and discussing it.

I love reading!  How do you pick books to read?  I would LOVE to hear your ideas and stories.

This entry was posted on Sunday, March 27th, 2011 at 3:00 am and is filed under Want to Talk About (Whatever). You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

5 Responses to " What To Read Next"

  • S. Krishna says:

    Oh, thank you for the kind words! I’m so glad you enjoy my site!

  • mel says:

    this one book could be our 2012 approach to our reading list for book clu?

  • houndstooth4 says:

    Oh sheesh! I am hopelessly addicted to books! I got a nook for Christmas last year, and I find books through that in several ways. Every Friday there’s a free book and I often download those. They also will suggest books based on others that you’ve purchased. I joined a forum for others with nooks and I often pick up books that other people there are talking about. Sometimes I find books through Shelfari when I remember to drop in there, too. I also love going through the book store and browsing through books, so I find some there, as well as through recommendations of a few friends who always seem to be reading something good. Gah! Have I babbled on long enough yet?

    • lori says:

      You can always tell a book lover! I haven’t checked out Shelfari or Goodreads yet. I know I always enjoyed seeing what was on your Shelfari shelves when you had your blog on blogspot.


Leave a Reply